BY APPOINTMENT ONLY!! Please contact the County Clerk’s Office to schedule an appointment 409-384-2632
ISSUED IN OFFICE MONDAY THRU FRIDAY 8:00 AM TILL 4:00 PM
What are the requirements for getting a marriage license?
- Both applicants should come in together when applying, if one of the applicants can’t come in, they will need to provide an Absent Applicant form along with copy of State or Federal Id
- You will need an original State or Federally issued ID that shows your full legal name and your date of birth (Driver’s License, State ID, etc) or a certified copy of your birth certificate.Your ID or birth certificate must be in your correct legal name.
- You need to know your Social Security number and city, county and state of birth, but you do not need to provide proof of these
- You should be over 18 years old. Per TX Family Code §2.003(a) A person under 18 years of age may not marry unless the person has been granted by this state or another state a court order removing the disabilities of minority of the person for general purposes.
- If you are divorced, your divorce must be final for over 30 days before getting a marriage license (unless you are marrying the same person) or if the 30 days were waived in your divorce, please provide a certified copy of your divorce for proof
- There is a 72 hour waiting period before you can use your marriage license.You can get the 72 hour waiting period waived by a judge’s order, if you are active military or have completed the State approved Pre-Marital Education Course.Please visitwww.twogetherintexas.com for fee’s and to locate classes in your area.
- License are valid for 90 days and may be used anywhere in the State of Texas
- The fee for a marriage license is $82.00 cash or $85.00 debit or credit card.
Common Law Marriage Certificate
ISSUED IN OFFICE MONDAY THRU FRIDAY 8:00 AM TILL 4:00 PM
- A Common Law Marriage Certificate is called a Declaration of Informal Marriage
- Both applicant must be present in the County Clerk’s office
- You need an original State or Federal ID that shows your full legal name and your date of birth
- You need to know you social security number and city, county and state of birth, but you do not need to proof of these
- You need to provide a date that you began living as a married couple, but you had to be over 18 at that time and not presently married to someone else.
- You must be over 18 years of age
- The fee for an Informal Marriage License is $47.00
- It is important to note that Informal Marriages are sometimes not recognized by other state or the Federal Government
How do I get a certified copy of my Marriage License
- Marriage license are public records and anyone wishing to obtain a copy may do so
- You can request a copy by mail or in person with the following information; Groom’s name, Bride’s name and date of marriage.
- You can request by email (firstname.lastname@example.org) or fax (409) 384-7198), but you will have to pay by credit card by going to https://govpay.net/jasper-county-tx-county-clerk, please include groom’s name, bride’s name, date of marriage, copy of credit card payment confirmation and an address where the certified copy can be mailed to.
- We can only issue a certified copy of a marriage license that was applied for in Jasper County. You may check the State of Texas website to see what county the marriage license was obtained at www.dshs.state.tx.us/vs/marriagedivorce/mindex.shtm
- We only issue certified copies and the fee is $8.00 per copy
For those born in Jasper County birth records from 1903 to present are available. Some births prior to 1903 were filed as Delayed Birth Certificates.
To obtain a birth certificate by mail: complete the application form along with Notarized Proof of Identification, also include a copy of the applicant's valid driver's license along with a check or money order payable to Jasper County Clerk. You may also write your request on a sheet of paper (But your signature must be notarized)-- please include full name on birth record/date and place of birth/ both parents names/name, address and phone number of applicant/ relationship to the person on birth record and a copy of valid identification). Mail to: Jasper County Clerk, 121 N Austin St, Room 103, Jasper TX 75951 or P O Box 2070, Jasper Texas 75951.
For those born in other Texas Counties- Abstract Birth Certificates can be accessed by the County Clerks' Office via the state remote system. The remote site access begins in 1926. Anyone needing a birth certificate prior to 1926 must contact the county of birth. Remote access is not available for those having a Delayed Birth Certificate. If you are getting a birth certificate for a passport, it is advised to get the long form birth certificate from the county of your birth.
For those born outside of Texas -contact the Department of Health in the State of Birth.
For those born in foreign countries who are U.S. citizens at birth -contact Passport Services, Vital Records Section, U.S. Department of State, 1111 19th Street NW, Suite 510, Washington DC 20522-1705.
Who can purchase a Birth Certificate? Qualified applicants are defined as the person named on the certificate, mother, father, brother, sister, spouse, grandparent, legal guardian or legal representative. Applicants must provide valid identification.
Cost -$21 for the first copy and $4 for each additional copy per request.
Request in person - The applicant must be qualified - defined as mother, father, child, sister, brother, spouse, grandparent, legal guardian or legal representative of the deceased. Applicants must provide valid identification.
Request by mail - complete the application form including a copy of their valid driver's license along with a check or money order payable to Jasper County Clerk. All requests by mail should be mailed to: Jasper County Clerk, 121 N Austin St, Room 103, Jasper TX 75951 or P O Box 2070, Jasper Texas 75951
The County Clerk's office has Death Certificates from 1903 to the present. Death certificates are considered a closed record for 25 years, so only qualified applicants may obtain certified copies of them during that time. Death certificates are available only for someone that passed away in Jasper County. Anyone needing a death certificate for someone who passed away in another county must contact that County directly.